Wikis > Technorati

Synopsis

Technorati is an Internet search engine for searching blogs. By June 2008, Technorati was indexing 112.8 million blogs and over 250 million pieces of tagged social media. The name Technorati is a blend of the words technology and literati, which invokes the notion of technological intelligence or intellectualism.

Technorati was founded by Dave Sifry and its headquarters are in San Francisco, California, USA. Tantek Çelik was the site’s Chief Technologist.

Technorati uses and contributes to open source software. Technorati has an active software developer community, many of them from open-source culture. Sifry is a major open-source advocate, and was a founder of LinuxCare and later of Wi-Fi access point software developer Sputnik. Technorati includes a public developers’ wiki, where developers and contributors collaborate, also various open APIs.

The site won the SXSW 2006 awards for Best Technical Achievement and also Best of Show. It was also nominated for a 2006 Webby Award for Best Practices, but lost to Flickr and Google Maps. In 2010, Technorati was recognized as one of the “2010 Hottest San Francisco Companies” by Lead411.

Technology

Technorati looks at tags that authors have placed on their websites. These tags help categorize search results, with recent results coming first.

Technorati rates each blog’s “authority”, the number of unique blogs linking to the blog over the previous six months.

Reception

In February 2006, Debi Jones pointed out that Technorati’s “State of the Blogosphere” postings, which then claimed to track 27.7 million blogs, did not take into account MySpace blogs, of which she said that there were 56 million. As a result, she said that the utility of Technorati as a gauge of blog popularity was questionable. However, by March 2006, Aaron Brazell pointed out that Technorati had started tracking MySpace blogs.

In May 2006, Technorati teamed up with the PR agency Edelman. The deal earned a lot of criticism, both on principle and as a result of Edelman’s 2006 fake blog scandals. Edelman and Technorati officially ended the deal in December 2006. That month, Oliver Reichenstein pointed out that the so-called “State of the Blogosphere” was more of a PR-tool and money maker for Edelman and Technorati than a reliable source, explaining in particular: a) why Technorati/Edelman’s claim that “31% of the blogs are written in Japanese” was “bogus”, and b) where the financial profit for the involved parties was in this.

In May 2007, Andrew Orlowski, writing for the tech tabloid The Register, criticized Technorati’s May 2007 redesign. He suggested that Technorati had decided to focus more on returning image thumbnails rather than blog results. He also claimed that Technorati never quite worked correctly in the past and that the alleged refocus was “a tacit admission that it’s given up on its original mission”.

In August 2008, Technorati acquired the online magazine, Blogcritics, for an undisclosed sum of money. As a result, Blogcritic’s founders – publisher Eric Olsen and technical director Phillip Winn – became full-time Technorati employees. One of the first collaborative ventures of the two entities was for Blogcritics writers to begin writing descriptions of Technorati tags.

In April 2009, Blogcritics underwent a complete site redesign and switched content management systems.

In 2009, Technorati decided to stop indexing blogs and sites in languages other than English in order to focus only on the English-language blogosphere. As a result, thousands of sites in various languages are no longer rated by the Technorati service.

Since its relaunch in 2009, there have been a range of complaints from Technorati users about issues such as the basic blog search not working for many months or problems with the blog claiming process. It appears that as late as November 2010 several of these issues have not been addressed. Technorati also appears to have stopped responding to these issues.

(Source: Wikipedia)

Change of Direction

On May 29th, 2014, without any announcement, Technorati removed its massive index of blogs, which was segmented by category.SEOCIAL

Final Technorati Authority Top 100
Position Site URL Technorati Authority
1. Huffington Post www.huffingtonpost.com
956
2. Buzzfeed www.buzzfeed.com
913
3. The Verge www.theverge.com
898
4. Mashable! mashable.com
889
5. Business Insider www.businessinsider.com
887
6. Gawker www.gawker.com
867
7. Deadspin www.deadspin.com
859
8. TechCrunch www.techcrunch.com
856
9. Gizmodo www.gizmodo.com
850
10. Ars Technica arstechnica.com
848
11. TMZ www.tmz.com
844
12. Mediaite www.mediaite.com
842
12. Bleacher Report bleacherreport.com
842
14. SB Nation www.sbnation.com
837
15. The Blaze www.theblaze.com
835
16. Deadline.com www.deadline.com
828
17. Jezebel jezebel.com
825
18. ZeroHedge www.zerohedge.com
824
19. GigaOM gigaom.com
823
20. CNN Political Ticker politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com
821
21. Think Progress thinkprogress.org
818
22. Hot Air hotair.com
805
22. Laughing Squid laughingsquid.com
805
24. Bits bits.blogs.nytimes.com
799
25. VentureBeat www.venturebeat.com
796
26. IBTimes.com www.ibtimes.com
794
27. The Next Web thenextweb.com
784
28. 9 to 5 Mac 9to5mac.com
782
29. this isn’t happiness. thisisnthappiness.com
781
30. Lifehacker www.lifehacker.com
780
31. Daily Kos www.dailykos.com
774
32. AppleInsider appleinsider.com
772
33. Eurogamer www.eurogamer.net
770
34. PopWatch popwatch.ew.com
767
35. PlayStation.Blog blog.us.playstation.com
766
36. Consumerist consumerist.com
760
36. HollywoodLife.com www.hollywoodlife.com
760
38. ArtsBeat artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com
758
39. Hit & Run www.reason.com/blog
757
40. TrustedReviews www.trustedreviews.com
756
40. Infowars www.infowars.com
756
42. White House.gov Blog www.whitehouse.gov/blog
754
42. The Foundry: Conservative Policy blog.heritage.org
754
42. EurekAlert! eurekalert.org
754
45. Jalopnik www.jalopnik.com
753
46. Paul Krugman krugman.blogs.nytimes.com
752
46. WSJ.com: Digits blogs.wsj.com/digits
752
48. The Big Lead thebiglead.com
751
49. MacRumors www.macrumors.com
750
49. Flavor Wire flavorwire.com
750
49. Engadget www.engadget.com
750
52. The Official Google Blog googleblog.blogspot.com
749
52. Talking Points Memo www.talkingpointsmemo.com
749
54. Colossal thisiscolossal.com
748
55. Comic Book Movie www.comicbookmovie.com
747
56. RedState www.redstate.com
746
57. Nicholas D. Kristof kristof.blogs.nytimes.com
745
58. Right Wing Watch rightwingwatch.org
742
58. TownHall.com townhall.com
742
60. Bleeding Cool www.bleedingcool.com
739
60. Crooks and Liars www.crooksandliars.com
739
62. Towleroad News www.towleroad.com
738
63. The Local – Sweden’s news www.thelocal.se
737
63. designboom www.designboom.com
737
65. SCOTUSblog www.scotusblog.com
736
66. Cinema Blend www.cinemablend.com
735
67. Matt Cutts www.mattcutts.com/blog
734
68. The Opinionator opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com
732
68. Autoblog www.autoblog.com
732
70. Gizmag www.gizmag.com
731
71. NewsBusters.org newsbusters.org
729
72. Consequence of Sound consequenceofsound.net
728
72. BostonHerald.com Sports www.bostonherald.com/sports
728
74. Refinery29 www.refinery29.com
727
75. Search Engine Land searchengineland.com
726
76. Project Syndicate www.project-syndicate.org
725
76. MLB Rumors mlbtraderumors.com
725
76. FanSided fansided.com
725
79. Grist www.grist.org
724
80. The Lede thelede.blogs.nytimes.com
723
80. American Thinker americanthinker.com
723
80. SlashGear www.slashgear.com
723
83. The Gadgeteer the-gadgeteer.com
720
83. mental_floss Blog www.mentalfloss.com
720
85. BGR www.bgr.com
719
85. Algemeiner www.algemeiner.com
719
87. Open Culture www.openculture.com
717
88. TorrentFreak torrentfreak.com
716
88. kottke.org www.kottke.org
716
90. Social Media Today socialmediatoday.com
715
90. WMPoweruser.com wmpoweruser.com
715
90. MetaFilter www.metafilter.com
715
90. Hypebeast www.hypebeast.com
715
94. Well well.blogs.nytimes.com
714
94. Android Phone Fans phandroid.com
714
96. 22 Words twentytwowords.com
713
96. Neatorama www.neatorama.com
713
98. Watts Up With That? wattsupwiththat.com
712
98. TreeHugger www.treehugger.com
712
98. Newser www.newser.com
712
Close Window